This licensing information is designed to provide a summary of the Florida insurance license requirements established by the Florida Division of Insurance. We recommend you contact the Florida Division of Insurance for more detailed information or changes.
Step 1: Complete a Florida insurance pre-licensing course
To sell insurance in Florida, you must complete an approved pre-licensing education course. All insurance pre-licensing courses provided by Insurance License Express are approved by the Florida Division of Insurance.
Once you have completed your Florida insurance pre-licensing course, you will receive a Certificate of Completion. The course is valid for one year from your date of completion. Within one year of completing the course, you must pass your Florida insurance license exam. You may only take the same exam five times within a 12-month period.
Note: You may take your course certification exam without a proctor if you present a sworn affidavit certifying that you did not consult or receive outside assistance on the written materials during the exam.
Step 2: Pass a Florida insurance licensing exam
Make an exam reservation
Your state licensing exam is provided by Pearson VUE. When you make your reservation for the exam, you will be required to pay the exam fee using a credit card, debit card, voucher, or electronic check. You can make an exam reservation online or by phone:
- Online: Visit http://www.pearsonvue.com/fl/insurance. Make your reservation at least 24 hours before your desired exam date, or 5 days prior to your desired date if you plan to pay by electronic check.
- Phone: Call (888) 274-2020. Be prepared to provide the name of the exam and your preferred test date and test center location when you make your reservation.
What to bring to your exam
You are required to bring two forms of current signature identification, including:
- A primary ID, such as a driver’s license, passport, or military ID that contains a photograph and signature. The ID cannot be expired.
- A secondary ID, such as a debit or credit card that contains your signature and has not expired.
You are not required to provide a copy of your Certificate of Completion at the exam.
You should arrive at your test center 30 minutes prior to the exam so that you have plenty of time to verify your identification and have your photograph taken for the score report. However, please remember that you are not allowed to study in the test center. You will be given the opportunity to take an exam tutorial that will not reduce your exam time.
Florida insurance license exam format
- Each major line exam is given in a multiple-choice format.
- The exam consists of a general section that covers basic insurance product knowledge and a state section that covers the insurance laws, regulations, rules, and practices of Florida.
- The passing score required on the exam is 70. As soon as you complete the exam, you will receive a score report that indicates whether you passed or failed. Should you fail, you will receive a report that shows your numeric score and provides you with diagnostic and re-testing information.
Note: Each exam includes a mix of “pretest” questions and scored questions. The pretest questions are not identified throughout the exam, and the answers may not have been discussed in your education course. Answers to pretest questions will not affect your score.
Step 3: Have your fingerprints documented
Find a location near you, register, and pay for fingerprinting by visiting www.L1enrollment.com/FLInsurance or calling 1-800-528-1358. You may also find additional information on fingerprinting at http://www.myfloridacfo.com/division/agents.
Step 4: Apply for a Florida insurance license
Once you’ve passed your exam and have been fingerprinted, apply for your Florida insurance license by completing an application at http://www.myfloridacfo.com/Division/Agents/Licensure.
For more information regarding Florida insurance license requirements, contact the Florida Division of Insurance.
Securities License Requirements
Any securities professional associated with a member firm-including partners, officers, directors, branch managers, department supervisors, and salespersons-must register with the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA). The registration application requires information about the individual's prior employment and disciplinary history. FINRA prescribes two levels of qualification and registration:
Registered representatives, generally sales personnel
Principals, generally officers of the firm and other management personnel involved in the day-to-day operation of the firm's investment banking or securities business