This licensing information is designed to provide a summary of the West Virginia insurance license requirements established by the West Virginia Offices of the Insurance Commissioner. We recommend you contact the West Virginia Offices of the Insurance Commissioner for more detailed information or changes.
Step 1: Complete a West Virginia insurance pre-licensing course
To sell insurance in West Virginia, you must complete an approved pre-licensing education course. All insurance pre-licensing courses provided by Insurance License Express are approved by the West Virginia Offices of the Insurance Commissioner.
Once you have completed your West Virginia insurance pre-licensing course, you will receive a Certificate of Completion. The course is valid for one year from your date of completion. Within one year of completing the course, you must pass your West Virginia insurance license exam.
Note: A disinterested third party (someone who is not a family member, friend, or financial connection to you) must monitor you taking the Certification Exam.
Step 2: Pass a West Virginia insurance licensing exam
Make an exam reservation
Your licensing exam is provided by Pearson VUE. When you make your reservation, you will be required to pay the exam fee using a credit card, debit card, voucher, or electronic check. You can make an exam reservation online or by phone:
- Online: Visit www.pearsonvue.com/wv/insurance. Make your reservation at least 24 hours before your desired exam date, or 5 days prior to your desired date if you plan to pay by electronic check.
- Phone: Call (800) 274-2614. Be prepared to provide the name of the exam and your preferred test date and test center location when you make your reservation.
What to bring to your exam
You are required to bring two forms of current signature identification, including:
- A primary ID, such as a driver’s license, passport, or military ID that contains a photograph and signature. The ID cannot be expired.
- A secondary ID, such as a debit or credit card that contains your signature and has not expired.
You should arrive at your test center 30 minutes prior to the exam so that you have plenty of time to verify your identification and have your photograph taken for the score report. However, please remember that you are not allowed to study in the test center. You will be given the opportunity to take an exam tutorial that will not reduce your exam time.
West Virginia insurance license exam format
- Each major line exam is given in a multiple-choice format.
- The exam consists of a general section that covers basic insurance product knowledge and a state section that covers the insurance laws, regulations, rules, and practices of West Virginia.
- The passing score required on the exam is 70. As soon as you complete the exam, you will receive a score report that indicates whether you passed or failed. Should you fail, you will receive a report that shows your numeric score and provides you with diagnostic and re-testing information.
Note: Each exam includes a mix of “pretest” questions and scored questions. The pretest questions are not identified throughout the exam, and the answers may not have been discussed in your education course. Answers to pretest questions will not affect your score.
Step 3: Have your fingerprints documented
In West Virginia, fingerprints are required for all individuals who are applying for an initial resident insurance license or those adding a line of authority to an existing license, including those who are applying or amending the following lines of authority: Life, Accident & Sickness, Property & Casualty, Personal Lines, Surplus Lines, Viatical Settlement Brokers.
MorphoTrust will take your fingerprints at an IndetoGO center, which electronically captures and transmits the digital fingerprints to the West Virginia State Police and the Federal Bureau of Investigation so that they can undergo a criminal history and federal background check.
After you have passed your West Virginia insurance license exam, schedule your fingerprint appointment online at www.indentogo.com or by phone at (855) 766-7746. Be sure to instruct the person taking your fingerprints to submit them to the WV Insurance Commission. The fee to have your fingerprints taken is $43.60, to be paid in full when you schedule the appointment. Your fingerprints are valid for only 30 days from the date you have them taken.
Once your fingerprints have been taken, the IndetoGO center will provide you with a receipt that contains a 12 digit TCN number that you will enter on your West Virginia insurance license application.
Step 4: Apply for a West Virginia insurance license
Once you’ve passed the exam and had your fingerprints documented, apply for your West Virginia insurance license by completing an application at www.nipr.com.
For more information regarding West Virginia insurance license requirements, contact the West Virginia Offices of the Insurance Commissioner.
Securities License Requirements
Any securities professional associated with a member firm-including partners, officers, directors, branch managers, department supervisors, and salespersons-must register with the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA). The registration application requires information about the individual's prior employment and disciplinary history. FINRA prescribes two levels of qualification and registration:
Registered representatives, generally sales personnel
Principals, generally officers of the firm and other management personnel involved in the day-to-day operation of the firm's investment banking or securities business